Dimensions Forums  
Home Register Premium Membership Stories Ye Olde Library Health Issues Market Place Big Fashion

Go Back   Dimensions Forums > Discussion > Main Dimensions Board

Old 01-26-2009, 02:42 PM   #1
TheIceManVer2.0

TheIceManVer2.0 can now be the recipient of "two cans" jokesTheIceManVer2.0 can now be the recipient of "two cans" jokes
Default BBW/SSBBW self defense...

There was a mention on the 2009 bash thread about bbw/ssbbw self defense. I have been practicing for about 7 years now, and have a decent handle on fitness and human physiology. There are unique advantages and disadvantages to being a larger person when it comes to defending yourself.
Most martial arts systems are effective if you are suited for them physically.
Although quite a few BBW's are nimble/athletic, I am going to aim this post towards those who aren't. Things to consider:

1.mobility
2.strength
3.balance
4.reflexes

The above mentioned characteristics vary greatly within our community.
That being said, here are some suggestions...

1. Talk to an Aikido, Judo, or Jujitsu practitioner. These arts have extensive locks and holds that don't require a lot of strength and athleticism, i.e wrist locks, small joint manipulation (fingers,etc). And they freakin' hurt! So it might get you out of hot water. They also most likely wont get you arrested like a more aggressive art like Karate or boxing, which tend to focus on striking.

2. Have a high level instructor assess your physical abilities. This could determine what techniques could work for you. We always say in martial arts that some of the most dangerous people come in unlikely packages. Feel free to pm me anytime if anyone has questions. I also know of many great places to learn on the east coast.
Old 01-26-2009, 03:02 PM   #2
Ernest Nagel
is old