Do you speak any foreign languages

Dimensions Magazine

Help Support Dimensions Magazine:

Colonial Warrior

I was born in New Jersey but raised in Puerto Rico. I speak Spanish as my native and English mostly online.

I spoke a lot of English at college. I was meeting some friends from the US mainland and recently I was speaking English by phone with one of them.

It's very hard to adjust to the speed of speaking but that friend is helping me a lot.

I am also interested in learning languages like Portuguese. German, and Japanese.

Shotha

DM Supporter
I'm a native English speaker and I speak:-

French, Greek, German, Yiddish, Welsh - fluently

Japanese - enough to be helpful in the hospitality industry

Georgian - very rusty

Biblical Hebrew, Biblical Aramaic, Ancient Greek, Latin and Old English (as there's no one to practice talking with, I only have reading skills.)

And I'm studying Sanskrit. I can now read the Bhagavad Gita in Sanskrit and I help other students with it.

Tad

mostly harmless
I'm a native English speaker and I speak:-

French, Greek, German, Yiddish, Welsh - fluently

Japanese - enough to be helpful in the hospitality industry

Georgian - very rusty

Biblical Hebrew, Biblical Aramaic, Ancient Greek, Latin and Old English (as there's no one to practice talking with, I only have reading skills.)

And I'm studying Sanskrit. I can now read the Bhagavad Gita in Sanskrit and I help other students with it.
Very impressive!

fat hiker

English is my mother tongue.

18 years in a bilingual government job means I not only speak French, but sometimes even dream in French.

Took German in high school, Spanish in university, though both are quite, quite rusty.

Lived in the former Czechoslovakia for a year, so used to speak Czech semi-fluently. Because the Slavic languages are all quite close, I can often recognise and pronounce words in Polish, Croatian, and other Slav languages.

Can do the "tourist thing" in Hungarian and Finnish.

Shotha

DM Supporter