Quantcast

The "Friend Zone"

Dimensions Magazine

Help Support Dimensions Magazine:

Grizzlybear

The Blade of Atlantis
https://www.facebook.com/nathan.david.rice,
This has happened to me several times, so my interest was piqued when I saw this video in my YouTube Subscriptions feed:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/IGK2KprU-To" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I'm interested in what the community thinks. In a way, I kind of agree with the whole analysis. I'm trying to wrap my head around what that means.

Jon Blaze

FALCON
DM Supporter
It makes sense.

I've had some recent experiences with it. Last July it happened to me. Moderately conservative atheist (her), and moderately liberal christian (me). I actually pushed away the thought of being with this person for years because I knew we have different opinions on things. I was willing to make compromises, and I made plans to try my best to get things to work out. But even when you put a lot of effort into a potential relationship, you don't always get the outcome that you want.

Unfortunately it changed our friendship forever, but it's just another lesson to add to my list. There are certain things that make people incompatible, but it's different for every person. Some people have to be with someone with a similar background, traits, and believe in certain concepts.

Compatibility is a very complex thing, and while I think some couples are truly compatible with one another on all levels (Despite inevitable quarrels here and there), most of us have at least some level of compromise/incompatibility that is a factor. Some are willing to compromise more than others. Some people have things that while important to them are not important to share with partners/potential partners.

mediaboy

imbedded links don't work.

its really a a matter of self respect.