Terminal cancer, how do I help?

Dimensions Magazine

Help Support Dimensions Magazine:

My best mates Dad has end stage 4 prostate cancer and is severely depressed because of it, I really want to be there for him but I have no idea what to say. I have thought because he is a devout Christian that I would make him a really nice holly cross out of Australian redgum

I have a lot of experience with this.

Your presence, above all, is the best gift you can give. Having terminal cancer is a very lonely experience no matter how many friends you may have. There is really nothing to say to a person who is dying but "I'm there with you." Sure, give him a cross, remind him that a better world awaits on the other side, whether you believe that or not. It will all be over soon.

Best of luck. L

Last edited:

DazzlingAnna

DM Supporter
My best mates Dad has end stage 4 prostate cancer and is severely depressed because of it, I really want to be there for him but I have no idea what to say. I have thought because he is a devout Christian that I would make him a really nice holly cross out of Australian redgum
As I have been in that position that your friend is in right now - if you want to be there for him and you don't know what to say - tell him exactly that you want to be there for him as friend and that you don't know what to say.
This meant more to me than all people/friends keeping distance during this difficult time.

Sonic Purity

Grateful for calm, rational discussion and science
I went through this with my father. I had the luxury of being able to basically move back into the family home in which i’d grown up, with him and my mother, for what turned out to be the last approximately 7 months of his life.

It may be different for you as a friend rather than immediate relative. Hopefully something here might help someone.