Quantcast

BOTH The Biographer - ~BBW, ~BHM, ~~WG

Dimensions Magazine

Help Support Dimensions Magazine:

Ssaylleb

A writer finds a new job will change his life

15th November 2014

I pulled up to the gate and rang the doorbell. The estate was so huge that all I could see inside the gate were trees. The house was not visible at all.

“Yes Sir?” a polite voice from the intercom called my attention.
“Oh, er hi. It’s Paul Crowne, for Mr. Alastaire.”
“Certainly. Please drive up to the main entrance and you will be met there.”
“Great, thanks”

The massive gates rolled back silently and I entered the grounds to my home for the next few weeks. I certainly wouldn’t run out of space, that was immediately clear. I don’t know exactly how big the estate was, but just imagine it took me a full minute to drive from the gate to the house... no forget that, this was a mansion.

I was a writer, or rather a journalist trying to break out into being a writer and had found what I hoped was my lucky break. I had written an article on the famous artist Henry Alastaire about a year ago and his agent had contacted me. Things took a while to iron out as the artist travelled frequently but we finally met up and agreed that I would write his biography. He wanted to have more input than I’d have liked but I couldn’t refuse the opportunity. His following was already so widespread that success was almost assured, and thus formed a relatively secure launching pad for my new direction as an author.