BHM Anna's Friend - by Starling (~BHM (Multiple), ~FFA (multiple), Romance)

Dimensions Magazine

Help Support Dimensions Magazine:

Starling

~BHM (Multiple), ~FFA (multiple), Romance - A big college love story

Anna's Friend
by Starling

Part One

I met Anna in the first class I ever had in college. Somehow, as a freshman, I had managed to get into a senior-level history class, and I was scared half to death. It was one of those tiny liberal arts colleges that pops up all over the East Coast - average class size of fifteen, everyone knows everything about each other, the whole deal.

Which is why you might imagine that I found walking into that first class, where everyone else was talking like they were best friends, one of the most terrifying things I have ever done. Not to mention the fact that I was one of two girls in the class.

To be honest, I didn’t realize right off the bat that there was another girl. She certainly wasn’t going to any great lengths to make her gender obvious. Her light brown hair was a little past her chin, heavily layered, and covered by a baseball cap that managed to obscure most of her face. She wore a loose fitting black T-shirt and a pair of basketball shorts. What gave her away was when she crossed one of her legs over the other, and I realized that her toes were painted hot pink.

She must have noticed me, sitting awkwardly by myself, shuffling my books around in an attempt to avoid the less than chivalrous glances some of my male classmates cast in my direction. Whatever her reason, she got up from her seat across the room, and sat in the empty one beside me.

“I haven’t seen you around before,” she said as she sat down, “You new?”

“Yeah,” I replied, giving her a quick glance up and down. She looked like she might be a runner or something.

“That’s cool,” the girl replied, leaning back in her seat. “Where’d you transfer from?”

“Oh. No. I meant I’m a freshman, sorry,” I stammered, feeling my cheeks warm.