A detriment or a benefit to fat acceptance?

Dimensions Magazine

Help Support Dimensions Magazine:

As far as possible perceptions towards fat acceptance go, are images such as these...

• a detriment

• a benefit

• are of no effect

Results are only viewable after voting.

stan_der_man

The Teflon Frog
This is my first attempt at creating a poll, so forgive me if I totally screw this up... :blush:

This poll is not a critique of these artists works, but more a question about what sort of perception images like these might convey to the "general public" about what Fat Acceptance represents, or perhaps what Dimensions represents. I chose these images from the front page of Dimensions, and these images in particular because they are depictions of exaggerated fatness, presumably fatness to the point of immobility. These aren't the most exaggerated of depictions, but typical in many ways of images often found in "Expansion" sites.

Example images are as follows:

fattv.gif

anne.jpg

fatness2.jpg

ssbbw6c.jpg

The question posed is:

As far as possible perceptions towards fat acceptance go, are images such as these...

1) a detriment

2) a benefit

3) are of no effect

stan_der_man

The Teflon Frog
Oops, I forgot to add that this is an anonymous poll... Also, I would be interested in stated opinions one way or another...:bow:

tonynyc

Slow Dance Aficionado
I don't see the images as a detriment-the nice thing about Dims is the variety of audience that it caters to. You have folks that may be into the "Expansion" site images and those that are not. For me personally-not my cup of tea ;but, if it makes some folks happy....

Chimpi

into the shining sun